What to Read Next?  Try Romance!

In episode 7 of the Curtis Casts, Pamela discusses romance novels with patron Jeanne Baker Stinson.  In a romance novel, there is always a “happily ever after” or at least a “happily for now” so reading one can be very relaxing – a nice escape!

Here are some romance suggestions:

The Grand Sophy (1950) or others by Georgette Heyer.  Heyer’s books have lots of detail about the regency time period (early 1800s), are filled with good humor and engaging characters.  If you have enjoyed the novels of Jane Austen, you might enjoy books by Georgette Heyer.  In The Grand Sophy, the main character is in charge of her younger siblings, and has to ask the head of the family, her prickly cousin Charles, for help in arranging things – a good match for her sister, school for her brother – and at first, Charles is annoyed by Sophy and her projects, but in the end, he is won over by her charming ways.

If you are interested in downloading an ebook from CloudLibrary, The Grand Sophy  is available, as well as a collection of Heyer’s Classic Heroines — the novels Cotillion, Faro’s Daughter and Friday’s Child.

Two authors writing regency romances today:  Tessa Dare and Eloisa James

Governess Game by Tessa Dare (2018)

After her livelihood slips through her fingers, Alexandra Mountbatten takes on an impossible post: transforming a pair of wild orphans into proper young ladies. However, the girls don’t need discipline. They need a loving home. Try telling that to their guardian, Chase Reynaud: duke’s heir in the streets and devil in the sheets. The ladies of London have tried–and failed–to make him settle down. Somehow, Alexandra must reach his heart … without risking her own.

When Beauty Tamed the Beast by Eloisa James (2011)

A lovely beauty thinks she can tame a bad-tempered earl in just two weeks. However, the earl is a man rumored to be immune to the charms of any woman.

If you are looking for a contemporary setting, try one of these (many are available on CloudLibrary):

Next Best Thing by Kristan Higgins (2010)

After losing the love of her life, young widow Lucy Lang is looking for a nice, decent man–but one who won’t stir her heart. So it’s goodbye to her friend with privileges, Ethan Mirabelli. Too bad Ethan isn’t planning on going anywhere.

Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa (2020)

A wedding planner left at the altar? Yeah, the irony isn’t lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina’s offered an opportunity that could change her life. There’s just one hitch: she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials.

Flatshare by Beth O’Leary (2019)

Entering a flatshare arrangement with a man on an opposite work shift, a heartbroken woman begins exchanging notes with the roommate she has never met and becomes his best friend, and possibly soulmate, through their correspondence.

The Honey-Don’t List by Christina Lauren (2020)

Accompanying a reality-show couple on a book-signing tour, a country girl who desperately needs her job and an MIT engineer fall for each other behind the scenes while struggling to keep their employers’ rocky marriage intact.

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman (2019)

A confirmed introvert finds her simple life upended when the father she never knew passes away, revealing an enormous extended family that overwhelms her budding relationship with a fellow trivia buff.

Love Lettering by Kate Clayborn (2020)

In this warm and witty romance from acclaimed author Kate Clayborn, one little word puts a woman’s business – and her heart – in jeopardy . . .

I Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella (2019)

A story of love and empowerment about a young woman with a complicated family, a man who might be “the one,” and an IOU that changes everything.

If you are looking for humor in your romance novel, try Jennifer Crusie, queen of the “Rom Com”.

Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie (2004)

Agreeing not to pursue a relationship after one date, unlikely lovers Min Dobbs and Cal Morrisey are thrown together again in the wake of such factors as a jealous ex-boyfriend, a determined psychologist, and a bizarrely intelligent cat.

 

 

Susan Elizabeth Phillips writes series that feature the same characters in different roles – a secondary character in one novel will be the main character in another novel.  The author says her books may be read in any order.  One of her popular series is The Chicago Stars series, featuring people connected to a fictional football team; another is the Wynette, Texas novels, which focuses on a group of professional golfers.

First Star I See Tonight is book 8 in the Chicago Stars series (2016)

Discovered by the former quarterback she was hired to tail, detective Piper Dove pretends to be the athlete’s stalker and is subsequently hired by him, an arrangement threatened by their growing chemistry.

Call Me Irresistible from the Wynette, Texas series by Susan Elizabeth Phillips (2011)

Ostracized for her role in halting best friend Lucy’s wedding, Meg finds herself stranded without family support in a hostile Texas town where she unexpectedly falls for Ted Beaudine.

Dance Away with Me, a new stand-alone by Susan Elizabeth Phillips (2020)

Seeking refuge in a Tennessee mountain town to recover from heartbreak, a young widow and midwife bonds with an enigmatic artist, a helpless infant and a passel of curious teens in a small and suspicious community.

If you need more reading recommendations, contact us at the reference desk 725-5242 or email refdesk@curtislibrary.com.  We love to help you find your next book!