The Curtis library staff is eager to help you find your next great read!  You can write to us at refdesk@curtislibrary.com or call and leave a voicemail at 725-5242 option 2.  If you tell us what kinds of books you like to read, and what you are in the mood for now, we will give you some recommendations.  And if you are using CloudLibrary for your reading or listening, we can tailor our suggestions to books that are readily available there.

If you love the adventure and exotic locations of Clive Cussler, you might also like Douglas Preston. In The Kraken Project, a NASA accident kills seven scientists and enables a self-modifying artificial intelligence to escape into the Internet.  Former CIA agent Wyman Ford and the AI’s creator, Melissa Shepherd, struggle to keep the evolving program out of the hands of scheming Wall Street traders.

Or The Lost City of the Monkey Gods. In this real-life adventure tale, Preston gives us a compelling, high-octane account of his travels in Honduras’ Mosquitia area, where he’s part of a team looking for evidence of the fabled Ciudad Blanca (The White City) aka “The Lost City of the Monkey God” — but the group has to deal with unfriendly soldiers, parasites, jaguars, snakes, insects, and more.

In the mood for a cozy mystery? Try The Talented Mr Varg by Alexander McCall Smith. This sequel to The Department of Sensitive Crimes finds detective Ulf Varg and his team investigating a playboy whose blackmailing case is complicated by Ulf’s brother’s questionable politics.

If you like historical fiction like Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale, here are some recommendations:

A Thousand Moons by Sebastian Barry. Raised by unconventional adoptive parents on a Tennessee farm, an orphaned Lakota child pursues a life for herself beyond the violence and dispossession of her past.

Simon the Fiddler by Paulette Jiles. Conscripted into the Confederate Army after nearly escaping the American Civil War, an itinerant fiddle player joins a ragtag regimental band playing for both sides of the conflict before falling in love with an indentured Irish governess.

The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict. A tale inspired by the first wife of Albert Einstein follows the experiences of Mitza Mari, a female physics student at an elite late-nineteenth-century school in Zurich, where she falls in love with a charismatic fellow student who eclipses her contributions to his theory of relativity.

Look for these on CloudLibrary!