Looking for reading recommendations?  Here are nonfiction books that have been added to the Curtis collection in recent months.  Click on the title to check availability.

Becoming Wild: How Animal Cultures Raise Families, Create Beauty and Achieve Peace by Carl Safina (April 2020)

This book looks into three cultures of other-than-human beings in some of Earth’s remaining wild places. It shows how a sperm whale, a scarlet macaw, and a chimpanzee, experience life within a  particular community.

Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family by Robert Kolker (April 2020)

From 1945 to 1965, a family in Colorado had twelve children, six of whom went on to develop schizophrenia.

The Black Cabinet: The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics during the Age of Roosevelt by Jill Watts (May 2020)

In 1932 in the midst of the Great Depression, Franklin Delano Roosevelt won the presidency with the help of key African American defectors from the Republican Party.  Roosevelt’s victory created the opportunity for a group of African American intellectuals and activists to join his administration as racial affairs experts.

Washington’s End: The Final Years and Forgotten Struggle by Jonathan Horn (Feb 2020)

Washington’s quest to surrender power proved more difficult that he imagined. This powerful story is told through his eyes as well as his family, friends, and foes.

The Women with Silver Wings: The Inspiring True Story of the Women Air Force Service Pilots of World War II by Katherine Sharp Landdeck (April 2020)

The true story of America’s unsung heroines of World War II.

Empires of the Sky: Zeppelins, Airplanes and Two Men’s Epic Duel to Rule the World by Alexander Rose (April 2020)

The Golden Age of Aviation is brought to life by the story of the giant Zeppelin airships that once roamed the sky and ended with the fiery destruction of the Hindenburg.

Open Book by Jessica Simpson (Feb 2020)

The actress reveals her most intimate struggles – inspiring and entertaining.

Fire in Paradise: An American Tragedy by Alastair Gee and Dani Anguiano (May 2020)

Bay Area-based reporters for The Guardian relate the story of the worst American wildfire in a century.

          

If you would like more reading recommendations, call us at 725-5242 or email refdesk@curtislibrary.com