Patrons ask us:  How can I find out about new books in the Curtis’ collection?  One way is to check our website “slider” with book covers; another is to read our blogs on the website.  We are posting “New and Available Now” pictures of books on Facebook every week, and we include lists of books in every curbside pick up order.  You can also go to our catalog, choose “Dewey & Other Call Number Search”. Restrict your search to Curtis and type in NEW FIC, NEW MYS, NEW Biography, etc, and that will give you a list of new books here at Curtis.

Now that inter-library loan has started up, we can order books for you that we do not have in the collection.

Here are new books that have been added recently.  Click on title to check availability.

Fiction:

The Honey-Don’t List by Christina Lauren

Accompanying a reality-show couple on a book-signing tour, a country girl who desperately needs her job and an MIT engineer fall for each other behind the scenes while struggling to keep their employers’ rocky marriage intact.

Mother Daughter Widow Wife by Robin Wasserman

Left with no memory of who she is, Wendy Doe arrives at the Meadowlark Institute of Memory Research, where she falls under the control of a doctor and his ambitious student, while the daughter she left behind tries to make sense of it all.

Hamnet: A Novel of the Plague by Maggie O’Farrell

A short, piercing, deeply moving novel about the death of Shakespeare’s 11 year old son Hamnet–a name interchangeable with Hamlet in 15th century Britain–and the years leading up to the production of his great play.

Survivor Song by Paul Tremblay

When Massachusetts is overrun by a rabies-like virus that is incurable an hour after infection, a soft-spoken pediatrician navigates apocalyptic obstacles to get a vaccine to her eight-months pregnant friend. 

The Golden Cage by Camilla Lackberg

Discovering that the privileged husband for whom she sacrificed everything has been having an affair, an emotionally and financially devastated woman orchestrates a daring plot for revenge.

Utopia Avenue by David Mitchell

The members of a music band in 1967 London navigate the era’s parties, drugs and politics as well as their own egos and tragedies while exploring transformative perspectives about youth, art and fame. 

Mexican Gothic  by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

A darkly enchanting reimagining of Gothic fantasy in which a spirited young woman discovers the haunting secrets of a beautiful old mansion in 1950s Mexico.

Sex and Vanity by Keven Kwan

When George, the man with whom she had brief fling several years earlier, unexpectedly appears in East Hampton, newly engaged Lucie Churchill is drawn to him again and spins a web of deceit in an attempt to block him from her life – and her heart.

Nonfiction:

The Office: The Untold Story of the Greatest Sitcom of the 2000s by Andy Greene

The untold stories behind The Office, one of the most iconic television shows of the twenty-first century, told by its creators, writers, and actors.

The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family and Defiance During the Blitz by Erik Larson

Draws on personal diaries, archival documents and declassified intelligence in a portrait of Winston Churchill that explores his day-to-day experiences during the Blitz and his role in uniting England.

Too Much and Never Enough: How My Family Created the Most Dangerous Man by Mary Trump

In this revelatory, authoritative portrait of Donald J. Trump and the toxic family that made him, Mary L. Trump, a trained clinical psychologist and Donald’s only niece, shines a bright light on the dark history of their family in order to explain how her uncle became the man who now threatens the world’s health, economic security, and social fabric.

Nature’s Best Hope: A New Approach to Conservation that Starts in Your Yard by Douglas W. Tallamy

Shows how homeowners everywhere can turn their yards into conservation corridors that provide wildlife habitats.

The People, No: A Brief History of Anti-populism by Thomas Frank

From the prophetic author of the now-classic What’s the Matter with Kansas? and Listen, Liberal, an eye-opening account of populism, the most important-and misunderstood-movement of our time.

Big Goodbye: Chinatown and the Last Years of Hollywood by Sam Wasson

A revealing account of the making of the classic film Chinatown describes Jack Nicholson at the height of his career, his doomed love affair with Anjelica Huston and Roman Polanski, still reeling from the savage death of his wife.

The Sustainable(ish) Living Guide: Everything You Need to Know to Make Small Changes that Make a Big Difference by Gale Jen

Easy, do-able, down to earth ideas and suggestions for everyone to help save the planet

82 Days on Okinawa: One American’s Unforgettable Firsthand Account of the Pacific War’s Greatest Battle by Col. Arthur Shaw (ret) with Robert L. Wise

A 75th-anniversary account of the Battle of Okinawa is told from the first-person perspective of a Bronze Star hero and commander of the Deadeyes unit, which played a crucial role in the surrender of Japanese forces.

Need more recommendations?  Call us at 725-5242 or email refdesk@curtislibrary.com.  We are happy to help!