Wondering what to read next?  Here are some new books we have just added to the Curtis collection.  Click on the title to check availability and request for curbside pick up.

Fiction and Mysteries

Cobble Hill by Cecily von Ziegesar

Navigating private spats and embarrassing secrets in their upscale Brooklyn neighborhood, four families seek purpose and meaningful relationships until a raucous party combusts in a maelstrom of ego clashes, taboo desires, and hidden cameras.

The Short, The Long and the Tall: Short Stories by Jeffrey Archer

Archer is a master of the short-story form, creating classic tales beloved by his fans. Now the award-winning writer joins forces with renowned illustrator Paul Cox to re-imagine twenty of his most popular and fêted short stories alongside beautifully rendered watercolor illustrations.

The Transatlantic Book Club by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

Setting up a transatlantic Skype book club to stay in touch with her recently widowed grandmother on Ireland’s Finfarran Peninsula, Cassie uncovers tragic family secrets that reveal unexpected truths about her grandmother’s marriage.

Ruthie Fear by Maxim Loskutoff

In this haunting parable of the American west, a young woman faces the violent past of a remote Montana valley.

Murder by Milk Bottle by Lynn Truss, Constable Twitten mystery #3

Constable Twitten and his Brighton colleagues navigate regional uproar and media drama in the summer of 1957 to identify a common link among three murder victims who have been killed with an unusual weapon.

A Pretty Deceit by Anna Lee Huber, Verity Kent mystery #4

In the aftermath of the Great War, the line between friend and foe may be hard to discern, even for indomitable former Secret Service agent Verity Kent.

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V E Schwab

Making a Faustian bargain to live forever but never be remembered, a woman from early eighteenth-century France endures unacknowledged centuries before meeting a man who remembers her name.

Once and Future Witches by Alix E Harrow

In the late 1800s, three sisters use witchcraft to change the course of history in a Hugo award-winning author’s novel of magic amid the suffragette movement.

The Russian Pink by Matthew Hart

U.S. treasury agent Alex Turner and diamond thief Slav Lily pursue the truth behind a precious stone known as the Russian Pink.

Nonfiction

One Life by Megan Rapinoe

The Olympic gold medalist and two-time Women’s World Cup champion describes her childhood in a conservative California town, her athletic achievements and her public advocacy of civil rights and urgently needed social change.

A Promised Land by Barack Obama

In the this first volume of his presidential memoirs, Barack Obama tells the story of his improbable odyssey from young man searching for his identity to leader of the free world, describing in strikingly personal detail both his political education and the landmark moments of the first term of his historic presidency–a time of dramatic transformation and turmoil.

Adventures in Opting Out: A Field Guide to Leading an Intentional Life by Cait Flanders

Offers a trail map to letting go of stories that are no longer serving you, and creating an intentional life that emphasizes the beauty of the natural world, the importance of gaining new perspectives, the joys of real human connection, and the peace that comes from living in harmony with your own values.

Breaking Bread with the Dead: A Reader’s Guide to a More Tranquil Mind by Alan Jacobs

H. Auden once wrote that “art is our chief means of breaking bread with the dead.” In his brilliant and compulsively readable new treatise, Jacobs shows us that engaging with the strange and wonderful writings of the past might help us live less anxiously in the present.

Sometimes You Have to Lie: The Life and Times of Louise Fitzhugh, Renegade Author of Harriet the Spy by Leslie Brody

This lively, rich biography brings Harriet’s creator into the frame, shedding new light on an extraordinary author and her marvelous creation.

Brave New Home: Our Future in Smarter, Simpler, Happier Housing by Diana Lind

A look how the American Dream of single-family homes has turned into a nightmare, saddling us with excess debt, making us more lonely and negatively impacting the planet, and suggests alternative living arrangements as a solution.

Quick + Simple: Simply Wonderful Meals with Surprisingly Little Effort by Jacques Pepin

250 of master chef Jacques Pepin’s classic and timeless recipes for unexpectedly polished and satisfying meals with minimal prep and cleanup.

The Best of Me by David Sedaris

The American humorist, author and radio contributor presents shares his most memorable work in a collection of stories and essays that feature him shopping for rare taxidermy, hitchhiking with a quadriplegic and hand-feeding a carnivorous bird.

The Nature of Nature: Why We Need the Wild by Enric Sala

Sala, director of National Geographic’s Pristine Seas project  tells the story of his scientific awakening and his transition from academia to activism–as he puts it, he was tired of writing the obituary of the ocean. 

Baking at the 20th Century Café: Iconic European Desserts from Linzer Torte to Honey Cake by Michelle Polzine

Transporting readers straight to the grand cafes of Europe, this book brings renewed attention to the legendary sweet and savory baking recipes of Central and Eastern Europe.

If you want more reading recommendations, give us a call at 725-5242.  or email [email protected]  We are always happy to help!