This month, look for our display of LibraryReads Favorites.  What are LibraryReads?

“LibraryReads is the monthly nationwide library staff picks list for adult fiction and non-fiction. Our goal is to help connect readers to as many books as possible, while drawing upon the incredible power that public library staff has in helping to build word-of-mouth for new books, and the important role that libraries play in creating audiences for all kinds of authors.

Rather than picking “the best” of anything, LibraryReads represents collective favorites–the books library staff loved reading and cannot wait to share. There are no judges or juries. Participation is open to everyone who works in a public library, whether senior staff or new arrivals, in any area of the library. LibraryReads is designed to be inclusive and diverse, representing a broad range of reading tastes and showcasing a variety of new titles, including buzzed-about debuts, genre favorites, bestselling authors, and lesser-known midlist titles that public library staff are raving about.”

The LibraryReads Favorites lists include books that are very popular right now, such as The Lincoln Highway by Amor Towles and Cloud Cuckoo Land by Anthony Doerr but here are some lesser known titles:

Mrs. March by Virginia Feito

The venerable but gossipy New York literary scene is twisted into a claustrophobic fun house of paranoia, horror, and wickedly dark humor. George March’s latest novel is a smash. No one is prouder than Mrs. March, his doting wife. But one morning, the shopkeeper of her favorite patisserie suggests that his protagonist is based on Mrs. March herself: “‘But… -isn’t she…’ Mrs. March leaned in and in almost a whisper said, ‘a whore?'” Clutching her ostrich-leather pocketbook, she flees, that one casual remark destroying her belief that she knew everything about her husband-as well as herself. Suddenly, Mrs. March is hurled into a harrowing journey that builds to near psychosis, one that begins merely within the pages of a book but may uncover both a killer and the long-buried secrets of her past.

If the Shoe Fits by Julie Murphy

In this modern-retelling of Cinderella, plus-size Cindy dreams of becoming a shoe designer. But when a spot opens up on her stepmother’s famous reality dating TV competition, Cindy is thrust into the spotlight in ways she never thought possible.

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead by Emily Austin

When an anxious woman takes a job as a receptionist at a local church, she becomes curious about her predecessor’s mysterious death.

The Forest of Vanishing Stars by Kristin Harmel

Raised in the unforgiving wilderness of eastern Europe after being kidnapped, a young German woman, in 1941, vows to teach a group of Jews fleeing the Nazi terror how to survive in the forest until she is betrayed as her past and present collide.

Falling by T. J. Newman

You just boarded a flight to New York. There are one hundred and forty-three other passengers onboard. What you don’t know is that thirty minutes before the flight your pilot’s family was kidnapped. For his family to live, everyone on your plane must die. The only way the family will survive is if the pilot follows his orders and crashes the plane. Enjoy the flight.

A Psalm for the Wild-Built by Becky Chambers, Monk and Robot book #1

It’s been centuries since the robots of Panga gained self-awareness and laid down their tools; centuries since they wandered, en masse, into the wilderness, never to be seen again; centuries since they faded into myth and urban legend. One day, the life of a tea monk is upended by the arrival of a robot, there to honor the old promise of checking in. The robot cannot go back until the question of “what do people need?” is answered. But the answer to that question depends on who you ask, and how. They’re going to need to ask it a lot.

The Other Black Girl  by Zakiya Dalila Harris

Tired of being the only black employee at Wagner Books, 26-year-old editorial assistant Nella Rogers is thrilled when Harlem-born and bred Hazel is hired until she, after a string of uncomfortable events, is elevated to office darling, leaving Nella in the dust.

The Queer Principles of Kit Webb by Cat Sebastian

Kit Webb has left his stand-and-deliver days behind him. But dreary days at his coffee shop have begun to make him pine for the heady rush of thievery. When a handsome yet arrogant aristocrat storms into his shop, Kit quickly realizes he may be unable to deny whatever this highborn man desires.

Our Woman in Moscow by Beatriz Williams

In the autumn of 1948, Iris Digby vanishes from her London home with her American diplomat husband and their two children. Four years later, Ruth Macallister receives a postcard from the twin sister she hasn’t seen since 1940. Within days, Ruth is on her way to Moscow in a precarious plot to extract the Digbys from behind the Iron Curtain.

The Guncle by Steven Rowley

A warm and deeply funny novel about a once-famous gay sitcom star whose unexpected family tragedy leaves him with his niece and nephew for the summer.

Mary Jane by Jessica Blau

A tender story about a 14 year old girl’s coming of age in 1970s Baltimore, caught between her straight-laced family and the progressive family she nannies for – who happen to be secretly hiding a famous rock star and his movie star wife for the summer.

While Justice Sleeps by Stacey Abrams

An inside-Washington thriller about an ambitious law clerk thrown into a life-or-death treasure hunt with major national implications when the Supreme Court justice she works for slips into a sudden coma.

Arsenic and Adobo by Mia P. Mansala, Tita Rosie’s Kitchen Mystery #1

When Lila Macapagal moves back home to recover from a horrible breakup, she’s tasked with saving her Tita Rosie’s failing restaurant. But when a notoriously nasty food critic (who happens to be her ex-boyfriend) drops dead moments after a confrontation with Lila, with the cops treating her like she’s the one and only suspect. Lila’s left with no choice but to conduct her own investigation, armed with the nosy auntie network, her barista best bud, and her trusted Dachshund, Longanisa, Lila takes on this tasty, twisted case and soon finds her own neck on the chopping block…

If you need more reading recommendations, call us at 725-5242 or email helpdesk@curtislibrary.com.  We are happy to help!