Looking for a holiday-themed book to read?  From the heartwarming to the humorous, here are some holiday suggestions.  Click on the title to check availability and request for curbside pick up.

Letters from Father Christmas by J R R Tolkien (published in 1976)

A collection of illustrated letters from Father Christmas recapping the activities of the preceding year at the North Pole. The letters were written and illustrated by the author to his children from 1920 to 1943.

 

Dashing Through the Snow: A Christmas Novel by Debbie Macomber (2015)

Forced to share a rental car in order to make it to Seattle for Christmas, Ashley Davison and Dashiell Sutherland find themselves attracted to one another.

Christmas in Maine by Robert P. Tristam Coffin (1941)

Coffin’s 1941 depiction of the perfect Maine Christmas describes a farmhouse “banked with emerald jewels clustered on bayberry boughs,” stuffed with aunts, uncles, and cousins by the cart load, with mince pies by the legion. You will feel like one of the family as he brings you along to play with cousins in the hay chaff, take a bouncy afternoon sled ride, savor the goose during the three-hour meal, string popcorn for the tree, and listen to tales by firelight at the drowsy end of a long and perfect day.

Holidays on Ice by David Sedaris (2008)

A best-selling classic features six additional works on the joys and embarrassments of favorite holidays, in a volume that includes tales of tardy trick-or-treaters, the difficulties of explaining the Easter Bunny to another culture, and a barnyard Secret Santa scheme gone awry.

A Christmas Carol Murder by Leslie Meier, a Lucy Stone mystery (2013)

When Jake Marlowe, a co-owner of Downeast Mortgage in Tinker’s Cove, Maine, is murdered, and his partner, Ben Scriber, begins receiving death threats after claiming to be visited by Marlowe’s ghost, Lucy Stone is on the case.

A Highland Christmas  by M C Beaton, a Hamish MacBeth mystery (1999)

Scottish constable Hamish MacBeth cracks two cases, in one a woman reports her cat stolen, in another someone has stolen the village Christmas tree.

My True Love Gave to Me:  Twelve Holiday Stories edited and with a story by Stephanie Perkins (2014)

Whether you enjoy celebrating Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or New Years, there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.

Christmas Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella (2019)

The misadventures of Becky Brandon Née Bloomwood continue in a new novel full of holiday cheer and–of course–lots of shopping.

A Christmas Journey by Ann Perry, a Christmas novel (2003)

When Isobel insults a young woman who is subsequently found dead, Lady Vespasia Cumming-Gould accompanies Isobel on a journey to the dead girl’s mother, and the circumstances behind the tragedy are slowly revealed.

The Dreaded Feast: Writers on Enduring the Holidays edited by Michelle Clark and Taylor Plimpton (2009)

Collection of humorous Christmas stories from American writers like PJ O’Rourke and Calvin Trillin.

All is Calm: A Maine Christmas Reader edited by Shannon Butler (2019)

This collection of essays, stories and poetry from the mid-1800’s through the Great Depression through today show the warmth, gratitude, and humility in the Maine spirit is evergreen.

The Gift of the Magpie  by Donna Andrews, Meg Lanslow mystery #28 (2020)

When the magpie, who has been bringing her bits of tinsel and costume jewelry, arrives with a gift that may be the clue to solving a crime, Meg finds her hopes for a relatively peaceful holiday season dashed.

A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote (1946)

A reminiscence of a Christmas shared by a seven-year-old boy and a sixtyish childlike woman, with enormous love and friendship between them.

The Christmas Box  by Richard Paul Evans (1996)

A touching story of a widow and the young family who moves in with her. Together they discover the first gift of Christmas and learn what Christmas is really about.

The New Year’s Quilt by Jennifer Chiaverini, an Elm Creek Quilt novel (2007)

A seasonally themed Elm’s Creek Quilts tale finds master quilter Sylvia Bergstrom Compson tackling a new quilt for her reluctant daughter-in-law that depicts holiday memories of Elm Creek Manor.

Candlelight Christmas by Susan Wiggs, a Lakeshore Chronicles novel (2013)

As single father Logan O’Donnell prepares to give his son, Charlie, the best Christmas ever on the shores of Willow Lake, he just may be in for a Christmas surprise himself, in the form of sharp-witted and independent Darcy Fitzgerald.

Blue Christmas by Mary Kay Andrews, Savannah series (2006)

Antiques dealer Weezie Foley works vigorously to win a window decorating contest, an effort that is challenged when components from her display begin to disappear and her fiancé begins to act in a distant manner.

The Christmas Shoes by Donna VanLiere, a Christmas Hope novel (2001)

While shopping for gifts on Christmas Eve, Robert, a successful lawyer whose family life is falling apart, meets Nathan, an eight-year-old boy whose mother is dying.

If you would like more reading recommendations, call us at 725-5242 or email [email protected]  We are happy to help!  We can even put together a “grab bag” of books for you, if you let us know what you are interested in.  Happy reading!