If your new year’s resolutions include reading or listening to books, have you thought about doing a reading challenge? A reading challenge can give you reading goals to aim for– help you to read more broadly and expose yourself to books and authors you normally wouldn’t read.  You can quietly do the challenge yourself, or you can sign up for a challenge and interact with other readers — there are many options.

Here are three examples of reading challenges:

2021 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

Popsugar is a website that “powers the optimism and dreams of women around the world through positive, purposeful, and playful content. We inspire happiness, strength, and confidence to be your best self.” The site offers information on celebrities, fashion, culture and more.  Each year, they create a list of 50 fun and unique book prompts to inspire your reading.  There are 40 “standard” prompts, then 10 “advanced” prompts.  Standard prompts include:

A book published in 2021

A book by an author who shares your zodiac sign

A bestseller from the 1990s

A book by a Muslim American author

Advanced prompts include:

The longest book (by pages) on your To Be Read list

The book that’s been on your TBR list for the longest amount of time

There are lots of fun reading ideas to explore!

If you are interested in a more difficult challenge, try Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge 2021

“Book Riot is the largest independent editorial book site in North America, and home to a host of media, from podcasts to newsletters to original content, all designed around diverse readers and across all genres.”

For their book challenge, they encourage you to “read harder” — push yourself beyond your usual reading tastes.  Here are a few of their prompts:

Read an LGBTQ+ history book

Read a food memoir by an author of color

Read a book of nature poems

Read a book featuring a beloved pet where the pet doesn’t die

Book Riot’s challenge provides very thought-provoking prompts.

Finally, maybe you would like a structured, traditional approach to your 2021 reading.  Try the 2021 Monthly Book Award Reading Challenge

This challenge is hosted by Kim and Tanya of Girlxoxo.com.

For this challenge, your task is to read at least one book each month that has won an award in that month (any year).   They provide a link to 2020 Major Book Awards Calendar.   For example, in March the Pen American Award winners are announced, so you would read a book that won that award.  In addition to the well-known National Book Awards and Booker Prize, there are lesser known awards, and specialized awards such as the Edgar Awards for mystery writing and Nebula Awards for Science Fiction and Fantasy.

Girlxoxo is a site for book discussions, organization tips and journaling.  On their website, they provide The 2021 Master List of Reading Challenges, if you want to explore even more!

If you need any reading recommendations, you can always call us at 725-5242 or email [email protected]  We love to help you find your next great reading experience!